sue me…

…but I don’t think that in this day and age, it’s good business sense to say you only want native speakers of English to apply for your purely online technical assistance kinda job opening.
Not that I ever wanted a job like that. But it seems to be a case of very thinly veiled discrimination somehow. Who the hell cares if it’s your first or twenty-first language, as long as you can communicate with ease? We aren’t talking about an editor for a poetry compilation or something, we’re talking someone to help others with their software issues. There are Cambridge Proficiency Exams and the like for a reason; it’s legit to require a certificate like that from your potential employees who are not native speakers. But just excluding them whatsoever?
See, if it’s a question of certain legal complications that might arise when employing someone from a “third world” country, then state upfront that it’s not a question of language but of citizenship. It’s a common practice.

6 thoughts on “sue me…

  1. I am a native born English speaker and I agree with you. A lot of “native” speakers of English are pretty poor at comprehension etc. I know several people for whom English is a second language who are better speakers than I. I think the key thing where language is concerned is being able to communicate effectively. :)

    1. Yes, and this ability to communicate is what is being specifically trained when people prepare for those exams. I don’t even know if a native speaker can get a “comprehension boosting” course??

  2. I think that requirement about native English speakers is pretty nasty and discriminatory, but I can totally understand where it came from. A lot of companies that have their tech support overseas don’t check for English proficiency. I just recently had to deal with Comcast tech support and it was a horrible nightmare because none of the poor people I had to talk to knew much English and they were clearly reading from a script. My problem wasn’t on their script. I kept trying to tell them what was wrong, they kept listening, then going back to their script. I felt bad for them, having some crazy person going bonkers about something they didn’t understand… Finally got someone that was not a native speaker, but she knew the language well. She helped tremendously. :) And Comcast isn’t the only company that does that. So yeah, it’s a discriminatory statement, but I’d almost bet it stems from frustration rather than pure ass-holiness.

    1. Well, frustration AND ignorance maybe? Ignorance as in having no idea that there is a whole “industry” dedicated to teaching English as a foreign language, with the results graded into levels of proficiency. I mean, people pay money out of their own pockets to get a chance to take these exams, and then they are still excluded…

Comment here

