There actually exists a thing…

…that is easier to do in DAZ Studio than in Maya!
http://www.3delight.com/en/modules/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4201

Okay, maybe not. I did have to write a script to call the “photon” hider and a light shader to actually cast caustics; and I had to add photon emission to my directional lights and suitable shading models to my refractive/reflective surface shaders. But really, out of all the 3DFM (3Delight for Maya) how-to’s, this one gotta be the most complicated.

Oh yeah, test renders. Here they are. The vase is “glass”, the Stanford dragon is “water” – but that’s just the photon shading models used for caustics; the refractive/reflective shader I use is the same (absorption colours may differ, but not too much; and yes this all will be available, maybe even the vase if anyone needs it).

Images are clickable!

castcaustics_newiconglass_truecaustics_catmullrom2

4 thoughts on “There actually exists a thing…

  1. I didn’t understand a thing you said there, but those images look fantastic!

    I’m also intrigued by this new render engine, but I’m going to wait until there’s a stable release before I give it a try.

    1. Thank you! =)
      I’m downloading the beta now (I have tried them out before, and they generally coexist alongside a stable version nicely), but I don’t know if I manage to find time for exploring Iray before the final release =) The prospects don’t seem that rosy for my card, anyway, – it’s Nvidia, granted, but a 2013 laptop one with 2GB RAM only. And I somehow suspect that in the CPU-only mode 3Delight will outperform Iray (because it is meant and optimised to run on CPU).

      1. I don’t have a lot of time right now to fiddle with a new render engine, so I don’t mind waiting for the stable release. I also have a Nvidia card, but my computer is about four years old, so I don’t know how well it will work.

        In the meantime, I’m bookmarking all the tips and tricks and tutorials…

Comment here

